Venturing on foot through Chennai’s dynamic streets.

21st July, 2018

I put on my headphones and resumed my Jio music. “Faded” by Alan Walker began to play. After a week of work and a day of rest on Saturday, I ventured out into the bustling world for a tea break. The PG owner advised me against using my mobile phone while walking due to numerous incidents of snatching he had heard about. He started recounting those stories, but I seemed to be ignoring him. He eventually yelled, “I see you using your mobile phone while walking, eating, and driving. You need to be careful!” I replied, “Okay Anna,” and kept my phone in my pocket.

As I crossed a traffic signal, I noticed the traffic policemen waiting to catch offenders. Motorbike riders slowed down to 60 km/h, car drivers hurriedly fastened their seat belts, and share auto-rickshaws stopped properly upon spotting the police.

Reaching a tea shop in OMR, I bought a tea and settled on the road divider that separated the service road from the highway. Two dogs approached me as if expecting chocolates or biscuits. After buying a pack of biscuits, they sat down next to me.

Passing by a KFC and a fast-food restaurant, the aroma of fried chicken and rice enveloped the area, droll anyone’s taste buds. This aroma likely contributes to the higher crowd in the fast-food restaurant compared to KFC.

Within 20 meters, a grandmother was selling flowers for girls and temples. The scent of the flowers overpowered the aroma of fried rice. Girls who seemed tired from their Saturday office jobs purchased flowers from her.

The overpass above the highway was occupied by couples who didn’t seem to mind the attached CCTV cameras.

The workers at Amma mess were busy making chapatis. MTC buses were less crowded, while the pani puri shop was packed. The constant orders of “Bhaiya, one Pani Puri” and “Bhaiya, one Mushroom” filled the air.

Teenagers at TASMAC carried backpacks as if they were going to college or the office, but the backpacks were used to hide their liquor.

Couples were easily spotted at places like Ibaco, Mumbai Kulfi, and CCD. These spots seemed to be popular choices for some privacy.

Old Mariamman songs pierced through the air, making me wonder why they hadn’t switched to more recent songs. Were the music directors not interested in creating new songs? Nearby, devotees had gathered for the evening pooja at a Mariamman temple.

Apartment buildings were illuminated with lights. Men discussed the speeches of Rahul Gandhi and Narendra Modi during the No Confidence Motion in parliament, often with cigarettes in hand. The women of the families were less visible, and the sounds of children crying could be heard intermittently.

The moon remained hidden somewhere.

Upon returning to the PG, Jio music indicated that I was on the 16th song. Currently, a number by Harris Jayaraj was playing,

“Paatham Èngum Šaavin Ranangal, Naragamaagum Kaathal Kanangal, Orumurai Madiyilae Uranguvaen Vaa Penne, Thaamathikkum Ovvøru Kanamum, Thavanai Muraiyil Maranam Nigazhum, Arigil Vaarayøa Viralgal Thaarayøa Nee Nee Nee Nee Nee Nee. Oho Oh Oh. Oho Ho Ho. Yeh Eh Oh Oh. Yeh Eh Oh Oh. Aha Eh Oh Oh.”

Leave a comment