A Shoe Shopping Experience: From BATA to Boots & Boots

Since 2016, I’ve been a customer of BATA shoes. Recently, during the challenging times of the Covid pandemic, I found myself in my hometown and decided to explore the BATA showroom in Marthandam, located just opposite Bejan Singh Eye Hospital on NH 47.

Expecting a variety of options, I spent 15 minutes scanning through formal shoes, casual shoes, and sneakers, but to my disappointment, the collections were low of my expectations. This was surprising, as the BATA showroom in PTC Thoraipakkam, Chennai usually had more collections.

Leaving the BATA showroom with a slightly disheartened feeling, I noticed a significant crowd at the adjacent shoe shop called “Boots & Boots.” I entered the store and began exploring their shoe selection. To my delight, I found that Boots & Boots had a more extensive collection compared to BATA.

After a few minutes of searching, I found a casual shoe that seemed perfect for my needs. It looked like a branded shoe, though I wasn’t familiar with the name. Ready to make a purchase, I inquired about the price, and to my surprise, the sales assistant quoted Rs. 4000.

While taken aback, I decided to try bargaining, suggesting a price of Rs. 1500. Without hesitation, the sales assistant agreed to my offer. Puzzled by the negotiation, I became suspicious of the situation. Additionally, the sales assistant seemed in a hurry, urging me to complete the purchase swiftly.

As I handed over my credit card for payment, the receptionist informed me that the card machine was not working, and they could only accept cash. Unprepared for this, I explained that I didn’t have any cash on hand and inquired about the nearest ATM.

The sales assistant directed me to an Indian Bank ATM, and following his directions, I returned home without making the intended shoe purchase.

Leave a comment