Train Conversations: Unforgettable Encounters on the Rails 1

As a frequent traveler on the Ananthapuri Express, I have many past events to write about.

The Ananthapuri Express is an express train that runs between Kollam and Chennai Egmore, and it is the only direct night train to Chennai for Neyyantinkara, Parassala, Kulitturai, and Eraniel passengers. The S11 coach of the 16824 Kollam – Chennai Egmore Ananthapuri Express is de-reserved between Kollam and Tirunelveli. This means that passengers can travel from Kollam to Tirunelveli in the S11 coach with an unreserved ticket. Since the train passes through Thiruvananthapuram during peak hours, this de-reserved coach is much needed to accommodate the extra passengers.

Unfortunately, on one of my journeys to Chennai, my reserved seat (Side Lower) was allotted in the S11 coach. The coach was almost full until it reached Nagercoil Town railway station. After this station, most of the passengers boarding were headed to Chennai. Usually, the ticket inspector checks the passengers’ seats after Tirunelveli station.

The ticket inspector asked a family of four to disembark at the upcoming station and board the general compartment as they had an unreserved ticket, which was only valid in the S11 coach until Tirunelveli. They were traveling from Trivandrum to Kovilpatti. Since Kovilpatti was the next stop of the train, the ticket inspector finally allowed them to travel in the S11 coach without disturbing the co-passengers.

After some time, two of them settled in my side lower seat while I was away washing my hands after dinner. They were a husband and wife speaking to each other in Tirunelveli slang, and they must have been between 60 and 65 years old. I didn’t see the other two.

They looked very tired. I thought they were returning after visiting a temple in Thiruvanthapuram. He asked his wife to take a nap in my side lower seat. With the remaining space, we started speaking with each other. He enquired about my family and my job. Then he began sharing his story.

He was a retired helper from Tuticorin Harbour and owned a house in Tuticorin. His three daughters were married and happily settled in and around Tuticorin and Kovilpatti, with children of their own. The other two traveling with them were his second daughter and her husband and they were on their way to his second daughter’s home.

He mentioned that he was so happy with his retirement because he had not been able to spend much time with his family while he was working at the harbor. He praised his wife for taking care of their daughters during his duty hours. Now, with his grandchildren, caring sons-in-law, and retirement savings, he was leading an enjoyable life. He even told me the names of his grandchildren.

I was happy to hear about his family. Then I asked about the purpose of their visit to Thiruvananthapuram.

His wife was deeply asleep. The train stopped at Maniyachi junction, even though the Ananthapuri Express doesn’t have a scheduled stop there, but to make way for the Pearl City Superfast Express train. Superfast trains always have priority over express trains. His son-in-law brought a bottle of water and then left.

After taking a few sips of water, he mentioned RCC. I was shocked. I didn’t want to hear his story any further, and I couldn’t divert his attention either.

He added that he had noticed a bulge under his tongue a long time ago. He didn’t pay much attention to it, thinking it was just a heat bump. Now, he couldn’t eat anything as it had started causing pain. After analyzing the biopsy report, the doctors in Tirunelveli recommended that he go to the Regional Cancer Centre (RCC) in Thiruvananthapuram. He underwent the biopsy again yesterday at the RCC and stayed in a hotel as it takes a day to generate the report. Today, the doctors at the RCC confirmed that he has stage 4 carcinoma. He started weeping, deeply concerned about his grandchildren as he may not have the strength to play with them anymore.

I calmed him down and tried to change the topic. The train started moving. We then talked about the Kulasekarapattinam temple. Since it is his favorite temple, he explained in detail about the Dasara festival celebrations there from day 1 to day 10. This year, he had made a vow for specific offerings (Nercha) to Kulasai Mutharamman Devi. I thought to myself that he had something to hold onto. He also invited me to visit the temple during Dasara.

His son-in-law came back, and he introduced me to him. He was equally disturbed by the report. As the next stop approached, he checked their bags and went to the restroom. His son-in-law informed me that the doctors at the RCC recommended to start the treatment as soon as possible. The treatment would involve the removal of the tongue, followed by radiation and chemotherapy. Knowing this would be the procedure, as I had seen many patients before, I concerned and asked his son-in-law to follow the doctors’ advice.

Leave a comment