Train Conversations: Unforgettable Encounters on the Rails 2

After a long day at the office, I found myself waiting at Kazhakuttam railway station for the Parasuram Express to go to my home. The train, a day express running between Mangalore and Nagercoil, was always bustling with commuters, offering plenty of unreserved coaches for daily office travelers like me.

Right on schedule, the train arrived, and it was already teeming with passengers. As usual, a significant portion of them would disembark at Thiruvananthapuram railway station. Until we reached that stop, I stood near the door, observing my fellow travelers.

On the other side, I noticed five young individuals from Kanyakumari, presumably in their early twenties. Their sun-kissed skin and cricket jerseys hinted at their recent involvement in a match. They stood together, engaged in lively conversation while periodically scanning the train for any available seats after our scheduled stop at Thiruvananthapuram Pettah.

After departing from Thiruvananthapuram station, we all managed to secure seats. Four of them sat opposite me, while one took the seat beside me. As they continued their cricket discussion, I listened attentively, intrigued by their enthusiasm.

One of the guys eventually turned to me and asked if I worked in the IT industry. I replied with a “Yes.” He then assumed that I must be earning a salary of over 1 lakh per month. I corrected him, saying it wasn’t the case. This presumption stemmed from the way movies and social media often depict IT professionals differently.

With the ice broken, we engaged in conversation. I discovered that all five of these youngsters hailed from the western part of Kanyakumari district and had completed their degrees. Cricket consumed their lives with unwavering passion. Earlier that day, they had played a cricket match in Kollam, which unfortunately ended in defeat. They attributed their loss to their poor bowling performance.

They eagerly shared their upcoming schedule, revealing matches scheduled for the next day in Thiruvananthapuram, followed by Tenkasi, and then Chennai on next two day.

Their commitment to traveling by train and participating in cricket matches spanned across Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and South Karnataka. They proudly displayed pictures of the trophies they had won and the cash prizes they had earned. Their ultimate dream was to secure an opportunity to enter the TNPL (Tamil Nadu Premier League). Playing matches across different states often led them to make connections with professional cricket coaches and clubs.

This glimpse into the lives of these young individuals left a lasting impression on me. I sincerely hope they achieve their aspirations.

Leave a comment